Whitaker Laboratory


Whitaker Laboratory was dedicated in 1966 in honor of University President Martin D. Whitaker. The laboratory was developed and designed to enhance Lehigh’s stature in metallurgy research. It has received national and international recognition for its contributions in training metallurgists and chemical engineers. The building serves the Department of Material Science and Engineering and the Center for Advanced Materials and Nanotechnology. There are laboratories for high-pressure research and reaction kinetics, nuclear studies, analog computation, process control, optoelectronics, high-temperature thermodynamics and kinetics and metallography. The Office of Government and Community Relations and Technology Transfer is also located in the building.